Best Birthday Cake flavor: Chocolate Cake with peanut butter frosting and bacon sprinkles!

I love bacon, always have! As a matter of fact, on my wedding day I woke up and said, “I’m hungry!  I need bacon and one of my lovely bridesmaids ran off to find me that tastiest of salty confections–bacon!!!

For the past few weeks I’ve been craving bacon, I don’t know why.  Maybe it’s the long gray days we have in Seattle or the simple truth that bacon just tastes good.  Either way, we don’t really each much of it in our family, so it’s usually a treat.  But, one day while eating my favorite chocolate cupcake with peanut butter frosting and salty crushed peanut sprinkles on top, I wondered what bacon bits would taste like instead of the peanuts. This thought haunted me for several days until I just had to create this wonderful dessert that I had been dreaming of.

The answer has been revealed–the taste is awesome!!!  Call me crazy, but the combination of the moist chocolate cake and peanut butter frosting is really good, but the crunchy salty bacon bits is a wonderful finish.  It’s rich and tempting; a perfect marriage of salt and sweet, moist and crunchy.

The only downside to making this cake is that I ate too many pieces of bacon and had to cook more to finish covering the top of the cake!

Maybe this idea will catch on and I’ll be eating choco, peanut butter cupcakes with bacon at a wedding this summer!!!  I hope so!!!

Leave a Reply

